Santry Demesne public park is located on the site of what was once a palatial old house and gardens, built in 1703 on the site of an earlier medieval residence. The house fell into disrepair at the turn of the 20th century. There are many theories locally as to what happened next, but in 1947 a fire severely damaged the house which was then left derelict and was finally demolished in 1959.
Many clues to the house still exist and visitors can find the house foundations, front steps, tree avenue and the walled garden within the grounds of the park.
Santry Demesne was officially taken in charge by Fingal County Council in June of 2003.
The park also contains a children's playground and an extensive network of pathways to suit walkers, joggers and dog walkers alike. There is free car parking to the right of the main gates as you enter the park.
The Community Garden which is located within the Walled Garden has been up and running for over 2 years and there is now a thriving Kitchen Garden and Heritage Orchard. The front section is currently being developed as a Recreational Garden which in time will be open to the public on a more regular basis.
The park also contains a children’s playground and an extensive network of pathways to suit walkers, joggers and dog walkers alike.
The park is serviced by the 16, 16a, 33, 41, 41b, and 41c Dublin Bus routes.
The opening hours of the Santry Demesne Park varies throughout the year. In January, November and December it is open from 9am to 5pm, while in February and March it is open fro 9am to 6pm. In April and September it remains open until 8pm, while from May to August it opens until 9pm. In October the park is open until 7pm.