alert-icon Created with Sketch.


Emergency Management

26 Mar 2020

Fingal County Council and COVID-19: Help us to help you.

Our offices are open by appointment only.

You can contact Customer Care at 01-8905000 or at [email protected].

Further information in relation to our services is available on

Please use the post-box outside our offices for correspondence/forms if required.

Further information here.

Stay Safe

Fingal's Greener Communities Awards 2019

Greener Communities

On Thursday 3rd October 2019 the Fingal Greener Communities Awards were held in County Hall, Swords.  This important competition has over the years enhanced Fingal County Council’s relationship with residents, community groups and individuals of the county.  In attendance on the night were Mayor of Fingal Cllr. Eoghan O’Brien and Fingal County Council Chief Executive AnnMarie Farrelly. 


The focus this year was on increasing pollinators and biodiversity and on fostering sustainable communities, a key role we can all play in creating a more sustainable future. Communities were also encouraged to play an increasing role in our environmental response to climate change and environmental improvements.


Mayor of Fingal Eoghan O’Brien commented: “The Greener Communities awards foster great community spirit - we owe a great deal of gratitude to those people who encourage the rest of us to take pride in our surroundings”. 


Chief Executive, AnnMarie Farrelly remarked that “The standard this year was higher than ever before and is a continuing testament to the concern and pride Fingal residents, community groups and individuals have for the environment in which we work and live”.


Awards were presented by Craig Benton, Benton Ecological Solutions, Roger Warburton, Rediscovery Centre, Ballymun, John Daly Acting Director of Services Environment Climate Action and Water Services Department and Fionnuala May, County Architect, Fingal County Council.

Many community groups from throughout Fingal participated in this year’s event with over 100 entrants across all categories, which range from Best Front Garden to the Biodiversity Award.  A total of 40 prizes were awarded on the night. The overall prize was awarded to Whitestown Estate Management for their excellent work and dedication to their area.


Sinead Fox and Carla McKenna, Environmental Education Officers who organised the event commented on the outstanding contributions made by all applicants and congratulated all those who received awards. “Biodiversity is an integral part of the web of life and we all have a part to play in protecting and enhancing the biodiversity that exists in our county. Thank you to everyone for making the night a resounding success.”


Full list of winners outlined below:





Business & Community

Adopt a Patch

Castleknock Tidy Towns

St Lukes NS Tyrrelstown


Melville Meakstown


Whitestown Estate Management


Seabury Tidy Districts Group

Best Village

Baldoyle Forum Clg


Lanesborough Gardens




Upcycling Project

Rush Tidy Towns

Seabury Tidy Districts Group

Skerries Tidy Towns

Diana O’Donohoe


Sustainable Skerries


Skerries Tidy Towns


Balbriggan Tidy Towns






Climate Action

Skerries Tidy Towns

Huntstown Community Centre

Rush Tidy Towns

Rush Tidy Towns

Balbriggan Tidy Towns

St Finians GAA

Broadmeadow Community Garden

Blakestown Drive Community Group

Sustainable Skerries

Skerries Tidy Towns

Whitestown Estate Management

Balbriggan Tidy Towns



Front Garden

Housing Estate

S. Hayden

Lanesborough Gardens

B. & R. Barden

Seabury Tidy Districts Group

E. McSherry

Rockabill Apartments Skerries

A. Falvey

Palmer Court residents Association

V. Byrne




Best Town

Overall Winner


Whitestown Estate Management

Photo caption:


Overall Winners Whitestown Estate Management - Robyn Ashe, Joseph Bennett and Samantha Hanna with Chief Executive Annemarie Farrelly and Fingal Mayor Eoghan O'Brien at the Greener Communities Awards Ceremony in Fingal County Council.





Greener Communities

For more photos click here 

All Rights Reserved © Fingal County Council