## **APPENDIX 12**

**ACRONYMS** 



## **Appendix 12 Glossary of Acronyms**

AA: Appropriate Assessment

ABP: An Bord Pleanála

ABTA: Area Based Transport Assessment

**ABT: Account Based Ticketing** 

ACA: Architectural Conservation Area

AFA: Area for Further Assessment (Flooding)

AHB: Approved Housing Body BER: Building Energy Rating

**BID: Business Improvement District** 

BREEAM: Building Research Establishment Environmental Assessment Method

**BRT: Bus Rapid Transit** 

CARO: Climate Action Regional Office

**CBC: Core Bus Corridor** 

CCAP: Climate Change Action Plan CCT: Correlated Colour temperature

CEUD: Centre for Excellence in Universal Design

CFRAM: Catchment Flood Risk Assessment and Management

CLCD: Community Led Local Development CMP: Construction Management Plan

CNG: Compressed Natural Gas

C02: Carbon Dioxide

CPO: Compulsory Purchase Order CSO: Central Statistics Office CWB: Community Wealth Building

DAA: Dublin Airport Authority

DAFM: Department of Agriculture, Food and the Marine

DAP: Drainage Area Plan

**DART: Dublin Area Rapid Transit** 

DC: District Centre
DCC: Dublin City Council
DCU: Dublin City University
DES: Department of Education

DETE: Department of Enterprise, Trade and Employment

DECC: Department of Environment, Climate and Communications

DFHERIS: Department of Further and Higher Educations, Research, Innovation and Science

DHLGH: Department of Housing, Local Government and Heritage (previously

DHPLG, DHPCLG, DECLG, DEHLG)

DLR: Dún Laoghaire-Rathdown County Council

DMA: Dublin Metropolitan Area

DMURS: Design Manual for Urban Roads and Streets

DT: Department of Transport

DTCAGSM: Department of Tourism, Culture, Arts, Gaeltacht, Sport and Media (previously DCHG)

ECFRAM: Eastern Catchment Flood Risk Assessment and Management Plan

EcIA: Ecological Impact Assessment EIA: Environmental Impact Assessment

EIAR: Environmental Impact Assessment Report EMRA: Eastern and Midlands Regional Assembly

ENR: Equality and Humans Rights Duty EPA: Environmental Protection Agency

**ESB: Electricity Supply Board** 

ESPON: European Spatial Planning Observation Network

EU: European Union EV: Electric Vehicle

FCC: Fingal County Council GAA: Gaelic Athletic Association

GDA: Greater Dublin Area GHG: Greenhouse gas GI: Green Infrastructure GNI: Gas Networks Ireland GSI: Geological Survey Ireland

GE: Gigawatt

**HGV: Heavy Good Vehicle** 

HNDA: Housing Need and Demand Assessment

HSE: Health Service Executive IAA: Irish Aviation Authority

ICT: Information and Communications technology

**IDA: Industrial Development Authority** 

IFI: Inland Fisheries Ireland

IW: Irish Water

IWA: Irish Wheelchair Associations IWEA: Irish Wind Energy Association

KCC: Kildare County Council KDC: Key District Centres LAP: Local Area Plan

LARES: Local Authority Renewable Energy Strategies LCDC: Local Community Development Committees

LDA: Land Development Agency

LEAD: Leadership in Energy and Environmental Design

LECP: Local Economic and Community Plan

LED: Light Emitting Diode LEO: Local Enterprise Office

LIHAF: Local Infrastructure Housing Activation Fund

LO: Local Objective

LPG: Liquefied Petroleum Gas

LSSIF: Large Scale Sport Infrastructure Fund MASP: Metropolitan Area Strategic Plan

MCC: Meath County Council MUD: Multi-Unit Developments MUGA: Multi Use Games Area NC: Neighbourhood Centre

NDA: National Disability Authority

NHA: Natural Heritage Area NC: Neighbourhood Centre NDP: National Development Plan

**NESC: National Economic and Social Council** 

NHA: Natural Heritage Area

NIAH: National Inventory of Architectural Ireland

NIR: Natura Input Report

NMPF: National Marine Planning Framework

NPF: National Planning Framework NPO: National Planning Objective

NPWS: National Parks and Wildlife Service

NSO: National Strategic Outcome NTA: National Transport Authority NZEB: Nearly Zero Energy Building OMC: Operating Management Company OPR: Office of the Planning Regulator

**OPW: Office of Public Works** 

PCMSP: Pilot Coastal Monitoring Survey Programme PDA: Planning and Development Act, 2000 (as amended)

PFRA: Preliminary Flood Risk Assessment PPN: Public Participation Network

PV: Photovoltaic

**QBC: Quality Bus Corridor** 

QGasSP: Quantitative Greenhouse Gas Impact Assessment Method for Spatial Planning Policy

RMP: Record of Monuments and Places

PROWs: Public Rights of Way RPO: Regional Policy Objective

RSES: Regional Spatial and Economic Strategy

RSO: Regional Strategic Outcome RPS: Record of Protected Structures

RRDF: Rural Regeneration and Development Fund

RTB: Residential Tenancies Board SAC: Special Area of Conservation SAAO: Special Area Amenity Order SDCC: South Dublin County Council SDGs: Sustainable Development Goals SDZ: Strategic Development Zone

SEA: Strategic Environmental Assessment SEAI: Sustainable Energy Authority of Ireland

SEC: Sustainable Energy Community SFRA: Strategic Flood Risk Assessment SFTS: South Fingal Transport Study SHD: Strategic Housing Development

SPA: Special Protection Area SPC: Strategic Policy Committee

SPPR: Specific Planning Policy Requirement

S2S: Sutton to Sandycove Cycleway

SSF: Serviced Sites Fund

SUDS: Sustainable Urban Drainage Solutions TEN-T: Trans European Transport Network

TCD: Trinity College Dublin

The Act: The Planning and Development Act, 2000 as amended

TII: Transport Infrastructure Ireland TUD: Technological University Dublin UCD: University College Dublin

UD: Universal Design UN: United Nations

UNESCO: UN Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organisation

URDF: Urban Regeneration and Development Fund

WFD: Water Framework Directive WWTW: Wastewater Treatment Works