Joint Policing Committee

Joint Policing Committee

Joint Policing Committee

The Joint Policing Committee is established under An Garda Siochana Act 2005, with the most recent Guidelines for operation of JPCs issued on 29th August 2014.

Joint Policing Committees operate in a manner that offers an opportunity to develop greater consultation, cooperation and accountability between An Garda Siochana, Local Authorities and elected local representatives, with the participation of the community and voluntary sector, on the management of policing and crime issues. Each of the partners involved in JPCs has its own distinct perspective and inputs to offer, along with its own responsibilities in ensuring that society's needs  are effectively met to maintaine safe and secure communities.

Membership of the Fingal Joint Policing Committee (effective 2014) consists of the following:

  • 15 Local Authority Elected members (County Councillors)
  • 5 Oireachtas Elected members (TDs and Senators)
  • 2 Local Authority Officials
  • 2 An Garda Siochana Representatives
  • 7 Community Representatives

At the County Council Meeting on Monday 13th October 2014, the following Councillors were nominated to the Fingal Joint Policing Committee:

  • Cllr J.P. Browne (resigned from Committee September 2016)
  • Cllr Jack Chambers (resigned following General Election 26 February 2016)
  • Cllr Kieran Dennison (Chair)
  • Cllr Tania Doyle (nominated to Committee October 2015)
  • Cllr Jimmy Guerin
  • Cllr Adrian Henchy
  • Cllr Anthony Lavin
  • Cllr Eithne Loftus
  • Cllr Mary McCamley
  • Cllr Grainne Maguire (Vice-Chair)
  • Cllr Howard Mahony (nominated to Committee following resignation of Cllr Jack Chambers) 
  • Cllr Paul Mulville
  • Cllr Mags Murray
  • Cllr Roderic O'Gorman
  • Cllr Tom O'Leary (nominated to Committee following resignation of Cllr J.P. Browne) 
  • Cllr Malachy Quinn
  • Cllr Natalie Treacy


For contact details for members of the JPC, please see Councillors contact details.

The Community Representatives on the JPC are:

Jossy Akwuobi (Social Inclusion), Myles Caulfield (Community & Voluntary), Rev. Kenneth Lindsay (Social Inclusion), Eamonn Price (Social Inclusion), Ray Smyth (Community & Voluntary), Maria Tormey (Environment).  There is one current vacancy under the Community & Voluntary grouping. 

The Oireachtas Members of the JPC are:

Sen. Lorraine Clifford-Lee; Sen. James Reilly; Alan Farrell T.D.; Louise O'Reilly T.D.; Brendan Ryan T.D.

Committee Meetings

The Joint Policing Committee meet quarterly.  The meeting dates for 2017 are as follows:

  • Friday 17th February 2017 from 09.15am-11am.  
  • Friday 12th May 2017 from 09.15am-11am.  THIS MEETING IS NOW RESCHEDULED TO FRIDAY 26TH MAY 2017 FROM 09.15AM-11AM
  • Friday 15th September 2017 from 09.15am-11am.
  • Friday 01st December 2017 from 09.15-11am.

Venues for each of the Joint Policing Committee Meetings will be confirmed prior to each meeting.   

Members of the public and media representatives are welcome to attend JPC Committee Meetings as observers.  Please email [email protected] in advance with your name, address and contact details and your indicate your particular interest in the JPC. 

Public Meetings 2017

Each year, the Fingal Joint Policing Committee host a series of public meetings across the county.  These meetings offer an opportunity for members of the public to meet with Senior Gardai and Local Authority officials to discuss matters of local relevance which fall under the remit of the JPC. 

The following dates are provisional dates for the series of Public Meetings in 2017:

  • Wednesday 05th April 2017 from 7.30pm-9pm. 
  • Wednesday 12th April 2017 from 7.30pm-9pm.
  • Wednesday 19th April 2017 from 7.30pm-9pm.
  • Wednesday 26th April 2017 from 7.30pm-9pm.

Venues and the related catchment area for that specific meeting will be confirmed in early 2017.  

The catchment areas are:

North County  (Balbriggan, Balbriggan Rural, Naul, Garristown, Skerries, Rush and Lusk areas)

Swords/Malahide (Malahide, Portmarnock, Swords, Santry, Donabate and Portrane areas).  

Dublin 15  (Blanchardstown, Carpenterstown, Castleknock, Clonsilla, Mulhuddart, Ongar, Tyrrelstown and areas).

South-East (Baldoyle, Howth, Sutton areas)

Fingal Joint Policing Committee Public Meetings 2016

Garda JPC Information Leaflet 

Reports of Public Meetings 2015 & 2016

At the JPC Meeting on Friday 19th June 2015, the Committee agreed the Report of JPC Public Meetings 2015

At the JPC Meeting on Friday 27th May 2016, the Committee agreed the Report of JPC Public Meetings 2016.

Contact Us

For further information on the Fingal Joint Policing Committee, please email [email protected]

For useful information on Crime Prevention and Community Policing, see